The Five Wisden Cricketers of the Year have been announced in the 2024 edition of the Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack, with Harry Brook, Mitchell Starc, Usman Khawaja, Ash Gardner and Mark Wood named as this year’s award winners.

Keighley-born Brook appears in the famous old almanack’s list on the back of scoring 363 runs at a shade over 40 in his maiden series against the Australians, capped by a fourth-innings turn of 75 in the pressure of a must-win home Test at Headingley.

Brook, who grew up in Burley-in-Wharfedale, also won a place in both limited-overs teams and hit the only men’s century in the third edition of The Hundred.

Pictured, Harry Brook celebrates an unbeaten hundred off 69 balls against Leicestershire at Headingley in the opening round of Championship fixtures.

Pictured Harry Brook celebrates an unbeaten hundred off 69 balls against Leicestershire at Headingley in the opening round of Championship fixtures.

Wisden editor Lawrence Booth said: “Harry Brook passed 50 four times during the Ashes – more times than anyone – and played crucial hands in England’s wins at Headingley and The Oval.”

“He smashed a record 41-ball century for Northern Superchargers, then forced his way into England’s World Cup squad with some breath-taking innings against New Zealand.”

Pat Cummins and Nat Sciver-Brunt were named the Leading Cricketers in the World while Travis Head picked up the Wisden Trophy, awarded to the outstanding individual performance by a man or woman in a Test match during the previous calendar year, for his 163 against India in the World Test Championship final. Hayley Matthews was named the Leading T20 Cricketer in the world.

The Leading Cricketers in the World Award are chosen by the editor of the Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack in consultation with some of the world’s most experienced writers and commentators. Selection is based on a player’s performances in the previous calendar.

The Cricketer of the Year award is the oldest individual award in cricket and dates back to 1889. Selection is primarily based on performances in the previous English summer, which is judged as the major criteria for inclusion. No one can win the award more than once.

The 2024 Almanack also named the Wisden Schools Cricketer of the Year, with previous winners of the award including Jonny Bairstow, James Taylor and Jos Buttler.

This year’s recipient was Ollie Sykes, who scored 935 runs and took 30 wickets for Tonbridge School across the season.

Related News

View all news

Yorkshire Vikings vs Lancashire Lightning - T20 Pre-Match Guide

Ahead of the Roses T20, our pre-match guide includes all the information spectators will need.

Read more
Jonny Tattersall

Yorkshire 2ndXI vs Durham - 2ndXI Championship Match Report

Heavy rain from yesterday delayed the start until after lunch – Durham won the toss and asked Yorkshire to bat first – 24 overs were lost.

Read more

Yorkshire 2nd XI vs Leicestershire - T20 - Match Report

With the weather forecast showing rain in late afternoon agreement was given by the relevant authorities to start the game 30 minutes early. Leicestershire won the toss and elected to bat first.

Read more
An image of Lauren Winfield-Hill and Adil Rashid, with the Yorkshire logo and Northern Diamonds logo in the middle

Sign up to our newsletter

For all the latest news, previews, ticket, membership and Premium Experiences information and more exciting content from Yorkshire Cricket and the Northern Diamonds straight to your inbox, subscribe now.

To view our privacy policy, click here.