Match 1.

Durham 2nd XI won the toss and inserted Yorkshire 2nd XI to bat. The home side lost two early wickets before a 44 run partnership between Matthew Revis and George Hill took the score to 67 in the 9th over before Hill was run out for 22. Revis was the next batsman out for 44 from only 30 balls with 5 fours. Durham continued to pick up wickets before a 9th wicket stand of 21 took the total to 135 for 8.

The wickets were shared between Oliver Gibson, Jack Campbell and Luke Doneathy with two wickets and Trevaskis took on.
After a wicket in the second over, Graham Clark and wicket keeper Stuart Poynter put on a stand of 53 from only 29 balls before Clark went for 56 from only 26 balls with 5 fours and four sixes. Two wickets went in successive balls to leave Durham on 82 for 4 in the 9th wicket. The visitors lost one more wicket as Poynter and Luke Doneathy took Durham to the target and finished on 137 for 5 with 3 overs remaining. Poynter was 41 not from 31 balls with 2 fours and 1 six.

Jack Shutt was the pick of the bowlers with 4 for 28 from his four overs.

Match 2.

In the second match Durham 2nd XI elected to bat and were soon struggling at 28 for 4 in the 6th over. The batsmen continued to struggled and lost wickets on a regular basis to tight bowling. The visitors were 83 all out from 15.4 overs with captain Paul Coughlin retired hurt. Top scorer was Liam Trevaskis with 16.

Two wickets were taken by Matt Pillans 2 for 11, captain Josh Poysden 2 for 18 and Jack Shutt 2 for 8.

Matthew Revis was out to the last ball of the first over before wicket keeper Ben Birkhead and Matthew Waite took the score to 52 in the 5th over before Birkhead fell for 20. Waite followed shortly afterwards for 30 from 16 balls with 4 fours and 2 sixes. George Hill and Will Fraine put on an unbroken 4th wicket partnership of 29 as victory was achieved with Yorkshire 2nd XI on 84 for 3 from 9.4 overs.

The wicket takers for Durham 2nd XI were Liam Trevaskis 1 for 35, Jack Campbell 1 for 19 and Oliver Gibson 1 for 3.

Andrew Hinchliffe – Scorer

Related News

View all news

YCCC announce 2024 Academy and EPP squads

Yorkshire Cricket has announced the  players selected for the boys' Academy squad and the Emerging Players' Programme for 2024.

Read more
Harry Brook

Harry Brook wins Bob Willis Trophy at Cricket Writers Club Annual Awards

The Yorkshire and England star received the award, named after the outstanding former England fast bowler and broadcaster, just two years after being voted the CWC's Young Cricketer of the Year.

Read more
Headingley cricket ground

YCCC partners' Christmas offers

As Yorkshire members and fans, you can take advantage of our partners' Christmas offers!

Read more
An image of Lauren Winfield-Hill and Adil Rashid, with the Yorkshire logo and Northern Diamonds logo in the middle

Sign up to our newsletter

For all the latest news, previews, ticket, membership and Premium Experiences information and more exciting content from Yorkshire Cricket and the Northern Diamonds straight to your inbox, subscribe now.

To view our privacy policy, click here.