Skip to content

Sheffield Cricket Lovers' Society

Founded in 1960 by David Drabble and his father, George. The society held its meetings at Bramall Lane, the Friends Meeting House or Victoria Hall in Sheffield City Centre, but moved to its home at Abbeydale Park, Dore, Sheffield, in 1980.

  • Website

    For all the latest information from the society click here


    Sir Michael Parkinson CBE

    Vice Presidents:
    D.B. Carr OBE, H.B. Stokes, L. Cox, P. Eagar, D.K. Lillee MBE, Sir Tim Rice, Dr. N.H. Patel, T.G.Pearson

    Bev Stokes, 9 Causeway Glade, Dore, Sheffield S17 3EZ. Tel. 0114-2369584

    Peter Mason, 112 Retford Road, Sheffield S13 9LF. Tel. 0114-2692377

    David Drabble, Owzat, 1 Ravensdale Road, Dronfield Woodhouse, Dronfield S18 8QP.
    Tel. 01246-416145. /

    Andy Jordan

    Assistant Secretary:
    Roger Scholey

    Dorothy Betts, Mike Gibson, Rosemary Moseley, Malcolm Paterson, David Tunbridge, Brian Whitehead.

  • International Honour for founder Secretary Drabble

    When ICC President David Morgan visited the Society to speak members in November 2009 it was brought to his attention that David had been the Society’s Secretary since it was founded by David and his father in 1960 as well as giving stalwart service as a Sheffield representative on the Yorkshire Committee for 22 years.

    The Society was delighted to learn that David was to be presented with the medal by David Collier during his visit on Monday, April 19. The ICC Centenary Medal recognises a group of people who are instrumental to the running of the game – the volunteers. They give their time for the benefit of others, and are crucial to preserving cricket’s special values as well as sustaining and developing the game at the grassroots and nurturing the future. Ihe ICC are awarding Centenary Medals to 1,000 volunteers worldwide who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to the game and have gone beyond the call of duty in the name of cricket.

  • Programme of Events

    Annual Membership is £7.50 reduced to £5 for Senior Member; Life Membership is £75

    All meetings start at 7.45pm at Abbeydale Park, Sheffield, except where stated:
    Part 2 2014

    Monday 13th January Joe Sayers, recently retired Yorkshire CCC and Author of Rose Tinted Summer
    (Original speaker Paul Farbrace will be in Sri Lanka doing his new job as National Coach)

    Wednesday 22nd January Yorkshire Film Archive

    Thursday 20th February Pie & Pea Supper with Richard Kettleborough, International Umpire £12.50 per ticket

    Wednesday 26th February Mick Newell, Coach of Nottinghamshire CCC – The AGM will precede this meeting

    Wednesday 5th March Quiz Night

    Thursday 20th March Press Night

    Thursday 3rd April Douglas Miller, Statistician and Author with MJK Smith, ex Warwickshire and England

    Monday 7th April ANNUAL DINNER with Society President, Sir Michael Parkinson and other guests yet to be announced

    Thursday 24th April Paul Shaw, Head of Women’s England Performance, with a member of the Women’s Team to be confirmed