Lancashire won the toss and elected to bat first in front of a large crowd. The first wicket fell after 3.5 overs when Bohannon was bowled by Matthew Waite, however in that time the score had advanced to 40. Jordan Thompson then had Guest, lbw for 0 and this brought Haseeb Hameed out to join Karl Brown. They added 54 in 45 balls before Hameed was caught and bowled by Karl Carver for 25.

This was in the 14th over and Brown had reached his 50 from 39 balls including 6 fours and 2 maximums. He was the fourth wicket to fall having made 75 from 55 balls with a further 3 fours. At this stage our visitors were 132-4 with 3 overs remaining and they closed on 155- 6.

We quickly found ourselves 23 for 2 in the fourth over having lost Wainman and Thompson. Matthew Waite helped Bilal Anjam to add 27 in 35 balls before the latter was caught behind, down the legside for 22 from 27 balls including 4 fours.

Tom Loten made 23 from 19 balls but the major contribution was missing as we totalled 124-8 to lose by 31 runs.



Batting first in game two Yorkshire made a brighter start reaching 41 from 29 balls before James Wainman was caught for 13. However Jordan Thompson and Matthew Waite departed in quick succession and after 7.1 overs we were 56-3.

Tom Loten made 11, Ben Birkhead 5 and Ed Barnes 10 but it was left to Bilal Anjam to make the main contribution with 68 from 59 balls with 10 fours as we posted 145-9.

Karl Brown departed for 11 but his opening partner, Josh Bohannon, remained unbeaten at the end on 89 from 56 balls with 9 fours and 2 sixes as Lancashire eased home by 8 wickets with 22 balls to spare. Guest also made 40 from 32.

Our next T20 action is Thursday 12th July at Barnsley but we preceed this with a championship game at Glossop against Derbyshire starting on Monday 9th July.

John Virr – 2nd XI Scorer

Related News

View all news

YCCC announce 2024 Academy and EPP squads

Yorkshire Cricket has announced the  players selected for the boys' Academy squad and the Emerging Players' Programme for 2024.

Read more
Harry Brook

Harry Brook wins Bob Willis Trophy at Cricket Writers Club Annual Awards

The Yorkshire and England star received the award, named after the outstanding former England fast bowler and broadcaster, just two years after being voted the CWC's Young Cricketer of the Year.

Read more
Headingley cricket ground

YCCC partners' Christmas offers

As Yorkshire members and fans, you can take advantage of our partners' Christmas offers!

Read more
An image of Lauren Winfield-Hill and Adil Rashid, with the Yorkshire logo and Northern Diamonds logo in the middle

Sign up to our newsletter

For all the latest news, previews, ticket, membership and Premium Experiences information and more exciting content from Yorkshire Cricket and the Northern Diamonds straight to your inbox, subscribe now.

To view our privacy policy, click here.