Yorkshire: Alex Lees, James Wharton, Jonny Tattersall, Jordan Thompson, Tom Loten, George Hill, Ed Barnes, Josh Shaw, Karl Carver, Jared Warner, James Logan.

Warwickshire: WMH Rhodes, DP Sibley*, L Banks, ARI Umeed, RM Yates, AT Thomson, AJ Mellor†, CJC Wright, WB Rankin, S Singh, JE Poysden, BL Brookes.


Warwickshire 2nd XI won the toss and opted to bowl first.


Day three saw Wharton and Tattersall resume at 95 for 1, a lead of 40. This had only been extended by six when the former was lbw for 37 from 113 balls with 4 fours. Tom Loten joined the first innings centurion but they added only 14 for the third wicket before Tattersall was caught at second slip for 23 from 75 balls (2×4). Tom then became the next victim, also caught at second slip for 11 and with the final ball before lunch George Hill was lbw for one, leaving Yorkshire 139-5 leading by 179.

Jordan Thompson, mixing belligerence with defiance, was joined by Josh Shaw and they advanced the score to 193 when Josh was bowled for 17 – they had added 54 in 72 balls. Jordan was, at this point, 44 not out and he reached his half century from 82 balls with 4 fours and 3 sixes.

Jordan had made 77 when he was caught at first slip having faced 102 balls and hit 7 fours alongside his 3 sixes. Tea was reached with us 249-7, leading by 289.

Jared Warner departed second ball after tea and our last two wickets advanced our total to 286, leading by 326. Karl Carver finished 27 not out from 86 balls (4 ×4) and Matthew Taylor made 17 from 33 balls with 3 fours.

For Warwickshire Josh Poysden finished with 4-51 from 30 overs.

Prior to the match ending in a draw there was time for Josh Shaw to dismiss both openers, Rhodes and Sibley, Warwickshire finishing 37-2.

YCCC – 13 points Warwickshire – 12 points

John Virr – 2nd XI Scorer

Related News

View all news

YCCC announce 2024 Academy and EPP squads

Yorkshire Cricket has announced the  players selected for the boys' Academy squad and the Emerging Players' Programme for 2024.

Read more
Harry Brook

Harry Brook wins Bob Willis Trophy at Cricket Writers Club Annual Awards

The Yorkshire and England star received the award, named after the outstanding former England fast bowler and broadcaster, just two years after being voted the CWC's Young Cricketer of the Year.

Read more
Headingley cricket ground

YCCC partners' Christmas offers

As Yorkshire members and fans, you can take advantage of our partners' Christmas offers!

Read more
An image of Lauren Winfield-Hill and Adil Rashid, with the Yorkshire logo and Northern Diamonds logo in the middle

Sign up to our newsletter

For all the latest news, previews, ticket, membership and Premium Experiences information and more exciting content from Yorkshire Cricket and the Northern Diamonds straight to your inbox, subscribe now.

To view our privacy policy, click here.