With the County Championship not having been staged in 2020 and with it undertaking a re-vamp for the 2021 season this means that the two-division structure ran for exactly 20 years – from 2000 to 2019 inclusive. It is time, therefore, for Paul Dyson to assess the achievements of Yorkshire in relation to the other 17 counties during this period.

Most seasons in Division One

The highest number for this achievement is 16 and the record belongs to Yorkshire but not exclusively as both Lancashire and Warwickshire have also been in Division One for the same length of time. Somerset have had 15 seasons in the top tier with Hampshire, Nottinghamshire and Surrey clocking up 14. At the opposite end of this record come Derbyshire, Glamorgan and Gloucestershire who have all experienced no fewer than 18 seasons in Division Two. Gloucestershire were promoted at the end of 2019 but their anticipation of life in Division One was, of course, thwarted.

Most successive seasons in Division One

From 2013 to 2019 Yorkshire had its longest run yet in the top division – seven consecutive seasons but this is nowhere near the record. From 2008 until 2019 Somerset experienced 12 seasons in the top tier and from 2006 Durham were there for 11 campaigns in a row. A total of four other counties – Kent, Nottinghamshire, Sussex and Warwickshire have also had longer runs than that of Yorkshire. Again, looking at the opposite end, 2019 was Leicestershire’s 16th successive season in Division Two and that is the record for that particular low-point.

Promotions and relegations

Having twice been relegated and twice been promoted, Yorkshire have changed division on a total of four occasions. This number pales into insignificance when compared with the experience of Worcestershire who have changed division more times (12) than when they have retained their status quo. Needless to say, its six promotions and six relegations are a record for each division and its record of changing division in five successive seasons (2006-10) also places it out in front. In second place, with each county experiencing eight changes of division, come Lancashire and Nottinghamshire.

Yorkshire’s four changes of division is not the lowest number by any means. Leicestershire, having started life in Division One, were relegated at the end of 2003 and have never been promoted – a unique experience as all of the other counties have each travelled in both directions. Somerset have changed direction only twice and there are three counties who moved only three times – Derbyshire, Durham and Gloucestershire.

Most Championship titles

A total of nine different counties won the County Championship in the two-division era. By winning the County Championship in 2001, 2014 and 2015, Yorkshire can claim to have the highest number of titles but this is equalled by Durham, Surrey and Sussex. The five other counties to win the title are Essex, Nottinghamshire and Warwickshire (twice each) as well as Lancashire and Middlesex (once each).

Related News

View all news
Harry Brook

Harry Brook wins Bob Willis Trophy at Cricket Writers Club Annual Awards

The Yorkshire and England star received the award, named after the outstanding former England fast bowler and broadcaster, just two years after being voted the CWC's Young Cricketer of the Year.

Read more
Headingley cricket ground

YCCC partners' Christmas offers

As Yorkshire members and fans, you can take advantage of our partners' Christmas offers!

Read more
The Yorkshire Vikings and Northern Diamonds team in a group photo at Headingley

Men's and women's 2024 domestic fixtures released

Yorkshire Cricket and Northern Diamond’s domestic fixtures for the 2024 season have been released.

Read more
An image of Lauren Winfield-Hill and Adil Rashid, with the Yorkshire logo and Northern Diamonds logo in the middle

Sign up to our newsletter

For all the latest news, previews, ticket, membership and Premium Experiences information and more exciting content from Yorkshire Cricket and the Northern Diamonds straight to your inbox, subscribe now.

To view our privacy policy, click here.