Iain Nairn will captain England at this summer’s Physical Disability Cricket World Series in Worcester, with four uncapped players named in the 15-man squad.

The six-team T20 series will feature England, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, with the final held at Blackfinch New Road on 13 August.

Nairn already has the experience of leading England to a world title, winning a five-team tournament in Bangladesh in 2015, and the Gateshead native will be looking to pass that experience on to the new names in the squad.

Angus Brown, Ben Sutton, Ben Tyler and James Nordin will be in contention to win their first England caps when the tournament kicks off on 5 August.

Sussex duo Liam O’Brien and Fred Bridges also make the squad, which is coached by former England spinner Ian Salisbury, and 16-year-old Ali Layard returns having become England’s youngest ever Physical Disability player last summer.

O’Brien enjoyed a breakthrough debut year in 2018, for which he was named the Lord’s Taverners’ Disability Player of the Year. In last year’s Tri-Series final, he smashed 75 from 40 balls and took two for 32 as England were narrowly defeated by Pakistan.

Ian Martin, ECB’s Head of Disability Cricket, said: “We’re really looking forward to welcoming some of the best disability cricketers in the world to Worcester in August for what promises to be a highly competitive series.

“Our England side have lost to Pakistan in our last two finals but with this squad we’re confident of taking that next step to win another major trophy.

“The standard of disability cricket around the world has increased a great deal in recent years, which is great for the game and a multi-nation series like this and we can expect a high standard of cricket to be played this summer.

“We hope this World Series will inspire more people, both disabled and able-bodied, to pick up a bat and ball and discover that cricket is a game for them.”

England begin their tournament at Kidderminster CC on 5 August against Pakistan. On 15 August, England will play a Rest of the World XI at Blackfinch New Road.

England squad for Physical Disability World Series (5-13 August)

Iain Nairn (Durham – captain)
Liam Thomas (Yorkshire)
Angus Brown (Hampshire)
Ben Sutton (Worcestershire)
Ben Tyler (Cheshire)
Callum Flynn (Lancashire)
Jordan Williams (Lancashire)
Fred Bridges (Sussex)
Liam O’Brien (Sussex)
Will Flynn (Hampshire)
Jamie Goodwin (Derbyshire)
Matt Askin (Shropshire)
James Nordin (Middlesex)
Dan Hamm (Cheshire)
Ali Layard (Somerset)

England fixtures

5 August: England v Pakistan (Kidderminster CC, 1.30pm)
6 August: England v Bangladesh (Bromsgrove CC, 11.00am)
7 August: England v Zimbabwe (Old Elizabethans CC, 11.00am)
9 August: England v Afghanistan (Bromsgrove CC, 3.00pm)
11 August: England v India (Kidderminster CC, 11.00am)
13 August: Semi-final (2nd v 3rd ) and Final (Blackfinch New Road, 10.30am & 2.30pm)
15 August: England v Rest of the World XI (Blackfinch New Road, 1.00pm)

Related News

View all news
Read more
An image of Lauren Winfield-Hill and Adil Rashid, with the Yorkshire logo and Northern Diamonds logo in the middle

Sign up to our newsletter

For all the latest news, previews, ticket, membership and Premium Experiences information and more exciting content from Yorkshire Cricket and the Northern Diamonds straight to your inbox, subscribe now.

To view our privacy policy, click here.