Skip to content

Yorkshire Schools Cricket Association


The Yorkshire Schools’ Cricket Association no its 91st year, continues to thrive and is firmly pat of the Yorkshire Cricket family.

  • Officials

    President: Mr C D Hassell
    Chairman: Dr B Knowles MBE
    Hon Secretary: Mr H D Galley
    Hon Treasurer: Mr C D Hassell
    Hon Fixture Secretary: Mr A Rowsell

    The YSCA has been the nursery for a host of talented young cricketers who later enjoyed England status at Test and/or one-day international level, and they include Bob Appleyard, Willie Watson, Ken Taylor, Doug Padgett, Geoff Boycott, John Hampshire, Jack Birkenshaw, Chris Old, Chris Balderstone, Geoff Cope, David Bairstow, Graham Stevenson, Bill Athey, Arnie Sidebottom, Martyn Moxon, Richard Illingworth, Richard Blakey, Steve Rhodes, Darren Gough, Michael Vaughan, Paul Grayson, Ryan Sidebottom, Richard Dawson, Anthony McGrath, Gareth Batty, Alex Wharf and current Test stars Tim Bresnan, Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root.

    All 18 first class counties have at some stage over the years engaged a Yorkshire player on their staff and two records were established when Barney Gibson (Crawshaw School, Pudsey) in 2011 became the youngest ever English first class cricketer at the age of 15 years and 27 days, and Matthew Fisher (Easingwold School) last season became the youngest English player at 15 years and 212 days to be selected for a competitive match with his inclusion in Yorkshire’s side for their YB40 League game against Leicestershire at Scarborough.

  • Honours

    NAYCA Under 19 Festival

    1983, 1987, 1992, 1994

    National Under 17 County Champions

    1996, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2006, 2011.

    Under 16 Jersey Festival


    National Under 16 County Champion

    1983, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1993, 1994, 1995.

    ESCA/ECB Under 15 County Champions

    1999, 2005

    ECB Under 15 County Cup

    2002, 2005, 2009

    ECB Under 14 County Cup

    2010, 2012

    ECB Under 13 County Cup

    2002, 2005, 2009

  • The Yorkshire Schools’ Cricket Association had a successful 2013.

    Red the reports from the year here.

    A season in review

    The annual awards presentation