Skip to content

Bairstow and Bresnan in England t20 squad

— 14 September 2011

The England selectors today announced Tim Bresnan and Jonny Bairstow in the England squad for the forthcoming two match NatWest International Twenty20 Series against West Indies commencing on Friday 23rd September at the Kia Oval.

(PHOTO: Jonny Bairstow has been rewarded for a tremendous Yorkshire season with a call-up to the full England t20 squad) 

Graeme Swann will captain the 14-man NatWest International Twenty20 squad for the first time with England Twenty20 captain Stuart Broad and vice-captain Eoin Morgan both unavailable due to injury.

Jonny Bairstow is one of two players yet to make their international debut alongside Hampshire’s Danny Briggs. James Anderson and Durham’s Scott Borthwick are the other additions to the Twenty20 squad that defeated India by six wickets last month.

England National Selector, Geoff Miller, said: “We have once again selected a blend of experienced international performers along with exciting young players with a great deal of talent. We have had a successful summer to date and will be looking to continue our form during the Twenty20 series against West Indies and finish the summer with two strong performances. 

“We have selected ten of the players who were involved in last month’s Twenty20 victory over India while the injuries to Stuart Broad and Eoin Morgan and the continued period of rest for Kevin Pietersen means we bring four players into the squad; James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Scott Borthwick and Danny Briggs. Graeme Swann is a highly respected member of the England side and his experience and leadership qualities will be invaluable when he leads a young England team next week- a role he is very much looking forward to.”

England Twenty20 squad v West Indies

Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire) Captain, James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ravi Bopara (Essex)Scott Borthwick (Durham), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)Danny Briggs (Hampshire)Jos Buttler (Somerset)Jade Dernbach (Surrey), Steven Finn (Middlesex)Alex Hales (Nottinghamshire)Craig Kieswetter (Somerset)Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire), Ben Stokes (Durham)