Skip to content

Memory Match: Surrey

— 20 July 2021

As with Championship cricket, Surrey have been very infrequent visitors to Scarborough – they have played in only six List A matches there – the most recent being 14 years ago – and Paul Dyson look back at a game which had a close finish.

July 5, 1981 at Scarborough: Surrey 243-3 in 40 overs (GS Clinton 105*, MA Lynch 70); Yorkshire 228 in 39.3 overs (DL Bairstow 78, PI Pocock 3-22) Surrey won by 15 runs.

This game was in the 13th season of the John Player League – a 40-over competition in which all of the matches were played on Sunday afternoons and which both of these counties had yet to win. In the previous campaign Yorkshire had finished in 14th place and Surrey fifth. The 1981 season started very wet and, prior to this match, three of Yorkshire’s first seven games had ended as ‘no results’, the remaining four consisting of two wins and two defeats. Surrey, meanwhile had played only five matches and they had two wins, one defeat and two further games rained-off.

With Geoff Boycott involved in the Lord’s Test against Australia and Chris Old injured, Yorkshire fielded a relatively inexperienced team, especially in bowling. With none of the five main bowlers having yet received their county caps – only two were to do so – the attack was up against it from the start, skipper David Bairstow having won the toss and deciding to field. Although there was an early wicket for Alan Ramage and Surrey captain Roger Knight made a low score, left-handed opener Grahame Clinton and Guyana-born Monte Lynch then shared a stand of 116 in 17 overs, the pair scoring seven sixes and 15 fours between them. Lynch was caught off the bowling of Simon Dennis for a rapid 70 and Pakistani Intikhab Alam got in on the act to make a quick-fire 33 not out, Clinton remaining 105 not out at the conclusion of the 40th over, Surrey having made a challenging 243 for three. Yorkshire used six bowlers but only two went for fewer than six an over – Simon Dennis, who took one for 30, and Mark Johnson.

Yorkshire had an uphill task but got off to a good start with John Hampshire and Bill Athey making 66 together for the first wicket in 15 overs but five wickets then fell for 36 runs, three of these falling to the off-spin of Pat Pocock. It was then that Bairstow took the bull by the horns, launched a fierce assault and his side kept up with the clock. Martyn Moxon, batting at number eight in what was only his fifth List A game, gave valuable support in a stand of 69, as did Johnson, but three run-outs stemmed the tide as did the dismissal of Bairstow for 78, which included two sixes and eight fours. His innings remains the highest for Yorkshire against Surrey at Scarborough. Gradually the run-rate became less and less manageable, three wickets fell for six runs and when the final wicket went down Yorkshire were 15 runs adrift even though they had batted through to the third ball of the final over. With excellent figures of 8-2-22-3, Pocock was easily Surrey’s most successful bowler.

By the end of the season both counties had finished in seventh place – a drop of two places for Surrey but a rise of seven for Yorkshire.

  • David Bairstow who not only top-scored in this match with a record-breaking 78 but was also Yorkshire’s captain and wicket-keeper.
  • YORKSHIRE v SURREY in limited-overs matches (List A) – 1965-2017


    Results (home and away)

    Played 56, Yorkshire won 23, lost 33. At Scarborough: P6, W1, L5.

    Highest innings totals

    Yorkshire 334-5 (45 ovrs) The Oval 2005 At home 289-9 (50 ovrs) Headingley 2017 228 (39.3 ovrs) Scarborough 1981 Surrey 375-4 (40 ovrs) Scarborough 1994 At home 329-8 (50 ovrs) The Oval 2009

    Lowest innings totals

    Yorkshire 76 (29.4 ovrs) Harrogate 1970 Surrey 90 (32.4 ovrs) Headingley 1996 At Scarborough Yorkshire 145 (33.3 ovrs) 2007 Surrey 158 (40 ovrs) 1975

    Highest individual innings

    Yorkshire 146 G Boycott Lord’s 1965 Away 129* MD Moxon The Oval 1991 At home 118* JD Love Headingley 1987 Surrey 177 SA Newman The Oval 2009 Away 136 MA Lynch Bradford 1985 At Scarborough Yorkshire 78 DL Bairstow 1981 Surrey 133 AD Brown 1994

    Highest partnerships

    Yorks 192 (2nd) G Boycott (146) & DB Close (79) Lord’s 1965
    Surrey 211 (2nd) SA Newman (177) & SJ Walters (85) The Oval 2009

    Best bowling in an innings

    Yorkshire 5-25 D Gough Headingley 1998 5-29 R Illingworth Lord’s 1965 Away 4-14 C White The Oval 2005 Surrey 7-33 RD Jackman Harrogate 1970 At Home 5-22 RD Jackman The Oval 1978 At Scarborough Yorkshire 4-24 A Sidebottom 1975 Surrey 4-30 SG Kenlock 1994

    Most dismissals in an innings by a wicket-keeper

    4 (3 ct, 1 st) SM Guy Yorkshire Headingley 2009

    Most catches in an innings by a fielder

    4 MA Lynch Surrey The Oval 1984 4 AW Smith Surrey The Oval 1993 3 D Wilson Yorkshire The Oval 1969 3 PI Pocock Surrey The Oval 1974 3 LE Plunkett Yorkshire The Oval 2015 3 DP Sibley Surrey Headingley 2016

    A half-century and four wickets in an innings in the same match

    CM Old 50 & 4-24 Yorkshire Middlesbrough 1973
    C White 100 & 4-35 Yorkshire Headingley 2002