Skip to content

Formal business completed at 2020 AGM

— 21 March 2020

The Yorkshire County Cricket Club’s Annual General Meeting for 2020 took place at Emerald Headingley this morning, with the meeting live streamed to the Clubs’ Members.

Chairman of the Club Robin Smith, who steps down from his role after twenty years of service in a variety of roles, opened the meeting at 10:30, having given an update on the ECB’s latest statement about the Covid-19 pandemic.

Following a successful year as the Clubs’ President in 2019, former-off-spinner Geoff Cope was re-elected as President for 2020.

Chief Executive Mark Arthur was re-elected to the Board alongside Katherine Mathew, whilst Roger Hutton was voted onto the board having received 951 votes for, and 24 against in the postal vote.

The Club’s Members re-elected Charlotte Evers to the Members’ Committee.

Finally, Janet Bairstow and Mike Cowan were elected as Vice-Presidents of the Club.

Bairstow is the widow of David Bairstow and the mother of Jonny. She has committed her adult lifetime to Yorkshire cricket, including 13 years as the Club’s Cricket Department Administrator, a post from which she has now retired.

Cowan played 91 matches for Yorkshire from 1953 to 1962. He took 266 wickets at an average of 24.01. Throughout his career and since Mike has been a popular figure with teammates, members and the wider public. He is a masterly public speaker and has always been a willing contributor to Club events.

The meeting was brought to a close with the Chairman wishing everyone well in the extraordinary circumstances we are faced with and declaring his pleasure looking back on the time spent working for The Yorkshire County Cricket Club.