Skip to content

2nd XI update: Yorkshire vs Nottinghamshire (Second Eleven Trophy)

— 23 April 2019



Yorkshire continued their excellent start to the season with a 264-run victory completed with 24 overs to spare.

Losing the toss and being given first use of a good looking wicket, Yorkshire posted 219 without loss. Harry Brook and Will Fraine, against his former team, reached that total in only 167 balls.

Fraine made 92 from 78 balls before being caught at deep mid-wicket – his innings included 13 fours and two sixes. At this point Brook was 105 no – his 50 came from 43 balls and his hundred from a further 44 including 12 fours and four sixes.

Brook shared a second-wicket stand of 80 in 54 balls with Jordan Thompson before he was bowled for an excellent 144 from 111 balls with 16 fours and seven sixes. Thompson fell shortly after for a run-a-ball 37.

Jack Leaning made 51 from 35 balls and Yorkshire closed on 402-6.

Ben Coad and Matthew Waite shared the new ball with Coad completing six overs, conceding 19 runs and Waite struck three times within five overs, including the opportunity to claim a hat-trick.

Wickets fell at regular intervals and when last man Paul Coughlin was unable to bat due to a hand injury, Notts were all out for 138. There were two wickets apiece for both Jared Warner and Jack Leaning – he will start his “next spell” on a hat-trick.

John Virr – 2nd X1 Scorer


York Cricket Club


Second Eleven Trophy – 50-over fixture.


Yorkshire: WAR Fraine, HC Brook, BD Birkhead (Wicketkeeper), TW Loten, JA Leaning, E Barnes, JD Warner (Captain), K Carver, JA Thompson, BO Coad, MJ Waite, JW Shutt.

Nottinghamshire: CF Gibson, JDM Evison, JD Cook, LA Patterson-White, MA Cohen, P Coughlin, SJW Hall, SG Budinger, JM Blatherwick, MHA Footitt, CD Nash.


Nottinghamshire won the toss and opted to bowl first.

Related Articles

Members' Forum: Friday 26th April

Members' Forum: Friday 26th April

— 23 April 2019

A Members’ Forum will take place in the East Stand Long Room on Friday 26th April starting at 10am. Director of Cricket Martyn Moxon will...