Skip to content

Last chance to vote for Ballance

— 15 August 2013

Fans still have time to vote for most promising player under 24 in the LV=County Championship.

The race to claim this year’s LV= County Championship Breakthrough Player Award is gathering pace. There is still time to cast your vote for one of the six nominees shortlisted for the award. Voting closes on the 14th September, with the winner decided by cricket fans. 

The nominees include Yorkshire’s Gary Ballance, Durham leg spinner Scott Borthwick, Surrey batsman Rory Burns, Leicestershire’s Shiv Thakor, Sussex batsman Luke Wells and Northamptonshire bowler David Willey. 

Launched by County Championship title sponsors, LV=, the award is now in its second year after Yorkshire CCC opening batsman Joe Root claimed the inaugural title in 2012. 

The award is intended to recognise the most promising young talent playing in the LV= County Championship and is testament to the promising next generation of international cricketers emerging through the domestic game. 

The shortlist was drawn up by a panel of judges comprising former England captain and current Managing Director or Partnerships at the ECB Mike Gatting, PCA Chairman Mark Wallace, cricket writer John Stern and former England cricketer Alec Stewart. The panel took into consideration performances in the LV= County Championship so far this season as well as the last month of last season. 

Commenting on the award, LV= Head of Sponsorship, Claire Jeromson said: “Following the success of Joe Root last season, this award proves the importance of recognising the outstanding young talent playing in the LV= County Championship. The competition continues to unearth potential Test stars and by championing these players we hope to ensure they are given the opportunity to break through.” 

To vote for your LV= County Championship Breakthrough Player and be in with a chance of winning a signed England bat, visit  before voting closes on September 14th 2013. The winner will be announced the following week. The winner will be based on the highest number of public votes and as part of the prize, LV= will make a £1,000 donation to a grassroots cricket initiative of the winners choosing.