Skip to content

Bairstow, Bresnan & Root all in England squad

— 6 July 2013

England selectors today named a 13-man squad for the first Investec Ashes Test commencing Wednesday 10 July at Trent Bridge, Nottingham.

Alastair Cook captains a squad that includes four members (Bairstow, Bresnan, Finn and Root) who were not involved in England’s most recent home series against Australia in 2009.  
Yorkshire duo Jonny Bairstow and Joe Root who have played 14 Tests between them are the only players yet to play in an Ashes series. Five pace bowlers have been selected with Bresnan and Onions the two bowlers who did not feature in England’s most recent Test series victory against New Zealand earlier this summer while Kevin Pietersen returns to the Test squad for the first time since March having recovered from a knee injury.
National selector Geoff Miller said: “This is an incredibly exciting period of cricket coming up against Australia and we know we will need to play to our full potential throughout the entire Investec Ashes Series if we are to retain the Ashes. We are satisfied with our preparations so far ahead of the first Test with both Graeme Swann and Stuart Broad recovering well from the injuries they picked up earlier this week. The squad will continue their hard work over the next few days and will be eagerly anticipating the start of the series on Wednesday at Trent Bridge.”
England squad
Alastair Cook (Essex) (Capt)
James Anderson (Lancashire)
Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire)
Ian Bell (Warwickshire)
Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire)
Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire)
Steven Finn (Middlesex)
Graham Onions (Durham)
Kevin Pietersen (Surrey)
Matt Prior (Sussex)
Joe Root (Yorkshire)
Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire)
Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)