Skip to content

Gale is Bradford & Bingley Player of the Year

— 24 September 2009

The Yorkshire CCC Awards were presented on the outfield at Headingley Carnegie Cricket Ground during the lunchbreak on Day 2 of the LV County Championship match against Hampshire.

The awards were presented by Brian Close (Club President) and Stewart Regan (Chief Executive) and the winners were:

Bradford & Bingley Player of the Year Award

Andrew Gale

The big one – voted for by Yorkshire members and supporters through the Club website – the biggest poll response we have ever had. In 3rd place was Adil Rashid, 2nd place was Jacques Rudolph (the winner in 2007 and 2008).

The winner has shown true Yorkshire grit in the Championship middle-order and Yorkshire sparkle at the top of the one-day side. He enjoyed a tremendous Twenty20 Cup campaign, has scored 827 Championship runs including two centuries and made his England Lions debut against Australia in July.

Players’ Player of the Year Award

Ajmal Shahzad

Voted for by the players – the recipient has had an excellent season with bat and ball. He has produced some tremendous one-day performances, scored 441 Championship runs with a career best 88 last week in Hove and taken 40 Championship wickets. 

Young Player of the Year Award

Jonathan Bairstow

Voted for by the coaching staff – excellent performances for the Academy and the 2nd Team earned him his 1st Team debut against Somerset at Headingley Carnegie in June. 542 runs at 41.69 and some tidy performances with the gloves.

Academy Player of the Year

Gurman Randhawa

Voted for by the coaching staff – he has taken 63 wickets at 18.65 and scored 337 runs at 24.07 this season for the Academy and has taken great strides forward as a player.

Fielder of the Year

The Yorkshire coaching staff have not awarded a Fielder of the Year Award this year.



  2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004
Player of the Year Andrew Gale Jacques Rudolph Jacques Rudolph Andrew Gale Deon Kruis Anthony McGrath
Players’ Player of the Year Ajmal Shahzad Jacques Rudolph Jacques Rudolph Anthony McGrath Anthony McGrath Phil Jaques
Fielder of the Year None Richard Pyrah Richard Pyrah Anthony McGrath    -
Young Player of the Year Jonathan Bairstow Adam Lyth Adil Rashid Adil Rashid / Mark Lawson Tim Bresnan Tim Bresnan
Academy Player of the Year Gurman Randhawa Azeem Rafeeq  -  -  -  -

Many congratulations to all of our winners!