Skip to content

Wardlaw stars in Scotland victory

— 16 January 2014

Yorkshire’s Iain Wardlaw was instrumental in Scotland’s 90-run victory over Nepal in the second ICC World Cup Qualifying fixture in Queenstown, New Zealand. The seamer from Cleckheaton to three valuable wickets ensuring victory for the Salitres.

  • After both teams lost their opening fixtures, there was plenty at stake as the teams entered the field an hour and fifteen minutes after the scheduled start due to rain in the locality.
    Nepal won the toss and elected to field first. Scotland started with promise and put on 48 for the first wicket before captain Kyle Coezer was caught for 14 in the 10th over.

    At one stage Scotland were 190 for 7 but a rally in the final five over saw them reach 249 for 7 from their 50 overs thanks to an excellent 64* by Freddie Coleman, together with 25* from 17 balls by Safyaan Sharif.

    In reply Nepal got off to a stuttering start as Sagar Pun, Anil Mandal and Shakti Gauchan all went cheaply as Scotland seized control of the match.

  • Scotland claimed wickets at regular intervals to ensure they always had the Nepalese innings in check. Gyanendra Malla stroked 34 before he was caught by Mommsen from the bowling of Safyaan Sharif.
    Wardlaw and Rob Taylor both claimed three wickets, while Majid Haq snared two, to halt Nepal’s hopes of getting anywhere close to the Scotland total, eventually being bowled out for 159 in the 45th over.

    Scotland are now second in Group with one win and a defeat from their opening two games. To have any chance of qualifying for the knockout stages, they need to finish in the top three of the group, which also includes Canada, Hong Kong, Nepal and United Arab Emirates.

    Scotland’s next game is against Canada in Queenstown on Thursday.

    Click here to view scorecard


Download Fixtures

Download 2014 fixtures to your device

You can now download Yorkshire County Cricket Club’s First team fixtures for the 2014 season. This includes all LVCC, Royal London One-Day Cup and NatWest T20 Blast matches.