Skip to content

Peter Chadwick succeeds Love as players' president

— 10 April 2013

Former Yorkshire and Harrogate batsman Peter Chadwick, right, is installed as President of the Yorkshire CCC Players’ Association on Sunday by retiring President Jim Love at their annual general meeting at Headingley.

Bryan Stott and Geoff Cope, who were largely responsible for forming the association eight years ago, were made honorary members in recognition of their outstanding services.

Peter, who played in six first-team matches for Yorkshire between 1960 and 1965 and was a record-breaking batsman with Harrogate as well as playing for Yorkshire Second XI, received the President’s Jewel from Jim, who had been in office for the past two years.

Jim was handed his Past President’s medal by the association’s chairman, Neil Hartley.

Peter told members that it was an absolute honour to follow in the footsteps of the illustrious previous presidents, and he recalled his first appearance at Headingley in 1959 as a 15-year-old when he was walking out to the nets:

“A man in glasses (coach Arthur Mitchell) asked me, ‘where does tha come from?’ and when I told him Pateley Bridge he replied, ‘They can’t play cricket up there’.” 

Cricket was all about friendship, and Peter said he had made friends in cricket ever since that day.

Members voted unanimously for former Yorkshire batsman Bryan Stott, founder chairman of the association, and former Yorkshire and England off-spinner Geoff Cope, who continues in the role of secretary, to be made honorary members.

Neil said that both men had done more than anyone else to make the association as strong as it was today. Bryan said that honorary membership was really appreciated, and he would always treasure it.

There was a minute’s silence in memory of three association members who had died during the year – Don Wilson, Michael Crawford and Eric Burgin.






Download Fixtures

Download 2014 fixtures to your device

You can now download Yorkshire County Cricket Club’s First team fixtures for the 2014 season. This includes all LVCC, Royal London One-Day Cup and NatWest T20 Blast matches.