Skip to content

AWARDS: Root scoops Cricket Writers' Club honour

— 17 September 2012

Joe Root has become the 10th Yorkshire player to win the Cricket Writer’s Club Young Cricketer of the Year award.

(PHOTO: Joe Root has enjoyed an excellent 2012 which saw him capped by Andrew Gale in Scarborough recently)

Root, 21, received the award at the club’s annual lunch at London’s Plaisterers’ Hall this afternoon after scoring 746 runs from 15 first-class matches this summer, including a career best 222 not  out. He was also consistent in the Friends Life t20 and CB40 competitions.

He is widely tipped to replace the retired Andrew Strauss when the England Test squad is announced tomorrow for November’s tour of India.

The other nine Yorkshire players to win the award are: Fred Trueman (1952), Phil Sharpe (1962), Geoffrey Boycott (1963), Chris Old (1970), Ashley Metcalfe (1986), Richard Blakey (1987), Chris  Silverwood (1996), Adil Rashid (2007) and Jonny Bairstow (2011).


Download Fixtures

Download 2014 fixtures to your device

You can now download Yorkshire County Cricket Club’s First team fixtures for the 2014 season. This includes all LVCC, Royal London One-Day Cup and NatWest T20 Blast matches.