Skip to content

ENGLAND: Bairstow in as KP omitted for decider

— 12 August 2012

The England selectors today named a 13-man squad which includes Jonny Bairstow for deciding Investec Test of the three match series against South Africa commencing Thursday August 16 at Lord’s.

The squad announced for the 3rd Investec Test match includes Yorkshire batsman Jonny Bairstow. Bairstow made his Test debut in May against West Indies.

Managing Director England Cricket, Hugh Morris, commented: “During the past week we have held several discussions with Kevin Pietersen and his advisors. Following a constructive meeting it was agreed that a number of actions needed to be completed to re-engage Kevin within the England dressing room. A fundamental item was to confirm publicly that no derogatory texts had been sent by Kevin to the South African team. This has not been forthcoming despite clear timelines being set to allow the Selectors to pick the squad for the 3rd Investec Test Match. We provided an additional six hours this morning to provide every opportunity for agreement to be reached but regrettably this has not been possible.

“The success of the England team has been built on a unity of purpose and trust. Whilst we have made every attempt to find a solution to enable Kevin to be selected we have sadly had to conclude that, in the best interest of the team, he will miss the Lord’s Test.”

National selector, Geoff Miller, said: “We need a squad fully focussed on this Test match to be able to play the sort of cricket we know is necessary if we are to win this week and level the series.

“The second Investec Test was a marked improvement on our performance at the start of the series but we are aware we will need to play some very good cricket this week if we are to level this series. While there were positives to take from a number of areas at Headingley we know we will need to show further improvement if we are win at Lord’s. There is plenty of international experience amongst this squad and they will all be determined to play to their full potential this week.”

England squad

Andrew Strauss (Middlesex) (Captain), James Anderson (Lancashire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Ian Bell (Warwickshire), Tim Bresnan (Yorkshire), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Alastair Cook (Essex), Steven Finn (Middlesex), Graham Onions (Durham), Matt Prior (Sussex), Graeme Swann (Nottinghamshire), James Taylor (Nottinghamshire), Jonathan Trott (Warwickshire)


Download Fixtures

Download 2014 fixtures to your device

You can now download Yorkshire County Cricket Club’s First team fixtures for the 2014 season. This includes all LVCC, Royal London One-Day Cup and NatWest T20 Blast matches.