Skip to content

Chris Waters does 'Fred Trueman' literary double

— 17 April 2012

Chris Waters’ Fred Trueman, The Authorised Biography, has won the acclaimed Cricket Society and MCC Book of the Year award for 2012. Waters’ biography of the great England and Yorkshire fast bowler won him a £3,000 prize – presented at a packed Lord’s Long Room dinner on Monday 16 April.

Chris was presented with the award by previous winner, acclaimed author and publisher Stephen Chalke in front of an audience of MCC Members, Cricket Society Members and guest journalists and authors from the cricket world. His victory completed a prestigious double for the Yorkshire Post cricket correspondent, who was awarded the Wisden Book of the Year Prize last week.

Waters dedicated the award to Trueman’s family: “I’m really pleased for Fred’s family, and particularly his widow Veronica. They were made up that the book was shortlisted for the award in the first place and they had helped me throughout the process.”

Vic Marks, Chair of Judges for the competition, spoke of his admiration for Waters’ work: “Chris’s book started strikingly with a fly on the wall account of a famous Yorkshire supper and examined Fred’s life and character without ignoring the flaws.”

The competition has been run by The Cricket Society since 1970 and in partnership with MCC since 2009. Books nominated for the award are put forward by MCC and Cricket Society Members and not publishers.

Five books were nominated for the shortlist after being whittled down from 24 by the five-man judging panel.

And the nominees were:

  • Fred Trueman: The Authorised Biography by Chris Waters
  •  FR Foster: The Fields Were Sudden Bare by Robert Brooke
  • Before the Lights Went Out: The 1912 Triangular Tournament by Partick Ferriday
  • Half of the Human Race by Anthony Quinn
  • Story of a Cricket Country by Christopher Ryan


Download Fixtures

Download 2014 fixtures to your device

You can now download Yorkshire County Cricket Club’s First team fixtures for the 2014 season. This includes all LVCC, Royal London One-Day Cup and NatWest T20 Blast matches.